Cinema Corner: Interstellar

Ah hoi my trustee crew mates aboard the SS hybridzone blog ship, this weekend had been a very interesting and awesome one. I got the pleasure of seeing three fantastic movies from Friday to Sunday, one for each day, my sheer excitement from the theaters have prompted my friends to coax me into writing movie reviews. To be honest, the reason I deliberately do not do reviews of movies is because I find it hard to blur the lines between spoilers or non-spoilers. It’s a very delicate subject when it comes to spoilers for me, and because of that I am not sure how to review a movie without giving away too much. Is saying that the movie is fantastic a spoiler? Is stating the amazing performance of an actor a spoiler? I never truly know, but recently I’ve been watching other movie reviews and reading some others and I think it’s about time that I practice it on my own. Today I would be reviewing Christopher Nolan’s latest sci-fi drama epic, Interstellar. I saw this movie on the Friday that just passed and my first impressions were mind blowing, eventually I got back home and went over the scenes in my head once and of course found one or two issues with it. We all know that no movie is perfect, and everyone is entitled to their opinion, so without much further delay, here is my brief review of Interstellar.

image
“Alright, alright, alright we heading to space”

Basically the movie is about a group of astronauts that are sent into space in order to find another habitable planet for the human race cause Earth was slowly dying. Matthew McCougnaughey does a really good job as the lead along with Anne Hathaway and Jessica Chastain delivering amazing supporting roles. The performances were really superb, even the young girl that played the role of Matthew’s daughter was phenomenal. The movie kicks off with Matthew and the other astronauts being shot to space and initially follows their journey has they look for a perfect substitute planet for humanity. There were a couple of twists and turns along the way and an overarching theme about love as well, which at times was beaten over my head(a similar problem that I had with Elysium). As for the visuals, this is a movie definitely worth seeing in the cinema, the gorgeous expanse of space has never been as captivating as this, ever since Gravity. The theory of relativity was expertly carried out in my opinion, of course there were times when the dialogue got a bit confusing, but ultimately this movie wasn’t as confusing as Inception or Memento to me. It is also a very deep and thought provoking movie that makes you debate a lot of things with friends after the movie. I was in a three hour discussion with my friends immediately after the movie. Another aspect that I would like to applaud was the score of the movie, it was absolutely rhythmic and perfectly encapsulated the feeling of dread and claustrophobia for the astronauts on board. This has to be Christopher Nolan’s most emotional movie, as he did spend a lot of time establishing the main characters and showcasing the emotional depth of them(something not really common in his other movies). I am now going to highlight my pros and cons of this movie.

image
“Space is like a long white line of cosmic cocaine”

PROS
-Mind blowing visuals: Even though Gravity was released last year, Interstellar still managed to leave me awestruck by the grandiose nature of the space travel scenes
-Brilliant Performances: We all know by now that a Christopher Nolan movie is bound to have strong performances has he brings out the best out of the actors and actresses he works with
-Convincing story: The movie explored the themes of fear, redundancy and a drive to explore more beyond our perceived capabilities
-Tense Atmosphere: The film never failed to induce a claustrophobic feeling whenever the onscreen characters were in any form of predicament

CONS
-Excessive runtime: I felt like the movie was about 15 to 30 minutes too long, there were a couple of scenes that dragged on for the sake of exposition.
-Lack of Global scale empathy: For a movie that deals with a dying earth, not much repercussions were shown worldwide to convince me that the whole world needed evacuation apart from Matthew McConaughey and his daughter.

There were a couple other little gripes I had with the movie, but for the sake of spoilers, I’m gonna leave it here. Overall Interstellar was a brilliant and highly ambitious movie done on an epic scale that did not disappoint but could have been grander than it was. This has to be Christopher Nolan’s most emotionally driven movie, as he really brought out the raw talent of the actors which I must applaud as he is taking new risks. I would give the movie a score of 7.5 out of 10, as much as I loved the movie I do not see it surpassing Nolan’s other works like Inception or Insomnia. I may have missed a few things, please let me know what your personal thoughts are about the movie. Everyone is entitled to their opinions. Subjectivity is bliss. I would also be putting up reviews for Fury and Gone Girl soon. Please don’t forget to like and subscribe for more entertaining news. Till next time. Szia.

image
“Oops I think I just passed gas in my suit”
Leave a Reply

